In Case You Didn’t Notice… Bulletproof Coffee

Posted: October 15, 2012 in Uncategorized

NOTE:  This the start of a recurring series I’m testing out called, “In case you didn’t notice.”

There are a lot of sources of information out there as far as… well… as far as anything goes.  Fitness is no exception.  The goal of this series is to bring to light some of the more interesting things that I find out there.  Whether it be from a fitness blog, or book, or dvd, or another discipline entirely, there might be a few things out there that you may not have noticed.

And just like anything else I post here, it may or may not be applicable to your lifestyle or goals at the time you read it.  Thats okay.  I won’t be hurt if you don’t find it useful, but you might know someone that could use the tip, too.  You might even find a use for something down the road.  Test things out and see what works for you and what doesn’t.  Most importantly, keep an open mind.

 

——

 

Part of my ongoing interest in fitness is what some people might refer to as “bio-hacking.”  Don’t worry its nothing illegal.   Although, to be honest, some of this stuff is so different from what mass media tells us that some of it may be illegal one day.

What these so called bio-hackers do is dig through piles and piles of research related to the body and the way it works and performs.  Then they’ll take what they learned and try to apply it in the most practical sense possible.  And this is an ongoing process; always tweaking and fine tuning their approaches to getting their minds and bodies to perform optimally.

Guys like Tim Ferris and Dave Asprey devote their time and energy to this process.  They do it mainly so lazy bums like me don’t have to go through hours upon hours of research and then interpret all the results.  Then they test things out on themselves and tell you what they find.  So kind of like how you got through Shakespeare in high school, consider people like them your version of cliff notes for your body.

So for the inaugural installment of “In case you didn’t notice,” I’d like to bring your attention to Dave Asprey’s Bulletproof Coffee.  

For formality’s sake lets kick this off right:  In case you didn’t notice, Bulletproof Coffee might be able to give your morning the jump start it sorely needs.

I suspect there may be more than a few of you out there who only manage to get a cup of coffee before they head out the door for work.  This one’s for you guys.

Instead of berating you about how you’re supposed to eat breakfast and that there’s no excuse you and should wake up earlier just to get breakfast in because its the more important meal of the day, I’ll suggest that you give Dave’s recipe a try.*

By adding a few tablespoons of unsalted grass-fed butter to your morning cup of joe, you get much needed healthy fats for your body to use as energy.  I’ll go on the record here and say that most people aren’t getting enough levels of health fats into their system.  Upgrading your coffee can be a really simple way for people to get those fats in.

And yes, you do need them.  Good sources of fats like grass fed butter help keep your cholesterol at optimum levels and are used by your body for a number of important processes.  However, if you have cholesterol problems already, you may want to hold off on this until your body is functioning normally again.

Give it a try and let me know what you think!

 

*Sorry, I ended up doing it anyway.

Comments
  1. good article. have you tried the enhanced coffee with unsalted butter yet?
    did you actually feel energized or was it more of a placebo effect?
    and is this geared towards endurance type athletes (swimming,biking,running,high rep weight training) or for those who are lifting heavy?

  2. chrisalarcio says:

    Hey man thanks! I’ve tried it for about a week and I like it. As far as I can tell the effects seems to be legit. I don’t have to sit there asking myself if its working, I kinda just notice from time to time that I’m still ‘up’ from a mental standpoint at least.

    I think it can be applied to any type of athlete, its just a matter of tweaking the timing of the ‘meal’ for you. Off the top of my head I don’t think it would be a good idea for most athletes to have inside of an hour before activity. But then again that might be perfect for some people. Hope you get something out of it man. It definitely tastes good at least lol.

    Don’t mistakenly grab salted butter though. The first sip will taste like 1000 baristas slapping you simultaneously.

  3. I usually start my training in the early AM around 6ish or so.
    You think a half hour to a full hour is the time window in when I should take that morning joe?

    If anything, it’ll help me poo :)

  4. chrisalarcio says:

    honestly, I would try it out and see how you feel on a non-training day first before you train on it.

    I’d give it like an hour, but supposedly the way the butter is blended, it makes it easier for your body to use for energy without digestion. So Dave said on a podcast recently anyway?

Leave a Reply

